Bo Edsberger Named Race Director of the Year

Published: Nov 7th, 2014

Hard work, dedication and passion make Bo Edsberger an extraordinary race director. Always thinking outside the box with creating new concepts and ideas, together with a solid organization and volunteer team, has made GöteborgsVarvet Half Marathon one of the best races in the world – with the best race director.

Bo Edsberger was Named 2014 MarathonFoto/Road Race Management Race Director of the Year on November 6 in Florida, USA.

The interest in running and running events are growing all around the World. Nearly two million people finished a half-marathon in USA last year, a fourfold increase from 2000.

Bo Edsberger took office in 2008. During his years as Race Director the development of the race has been outstanding. GöteborgsVarvet Half Marathon was first held in 1980 and now, 35 races later, it´s the World’s Largest Half Marathon. The organization has grown from two to fifteen full time employees, and from 1 500 to 4 000 volunteers.

In October 2013 Bo Edsberger took another step in his career. He was announced the new General Secretary for Gothenburg Athletic Association. Gothenburg Athletic Association is the organizer for GöteborgsVarvet Half Marathon.

Nominees were judged on several factors, including overall ability, reputation of race, creativity and organizational ability.

Said by the committee: “For his vision, leadership and outstanding management of one of the largest races in the world, Bo Edsberger, director of the 65,000 runner GöteborgsVarvet Half Marathon, is our 2014 Race Director of the Year”.

About the Award:
The MarathonFoto/Road Race Management Race Director of the Year award is made annually to recognize and promote excellence in race directing. The award is one of the most prestigious honors in the sport of road racing and was first awarded Fred Lebow in 1987. Road Race Management (RRM) is a member-based organization for race and industry professionals. RRM conducts a annual race directors’ meeting and trade show in Florida where the Race Director of the Year award is presented. MarathonFoto is the world’s largest race photography company.

Previous winners:
Dave McGillivray Peoples Beach to Beacon 10K (now race director for B.A.A. Boston Marathon), Carey Pinkowski LaSalle Bank Chicago Marathon, Allan Steinfeld New York City Marathon and Don Kardong, Lilac Bloomsday Run.

Published: Nov 7th, 2014